France equal 60-year-old record to win second World Cup

first_imgFrance lifted the World Cup trophy for the second time in 20 years after 90 minutes of riveting football, with the game witnessing six goals for the first time since 1958.Brazil had beaten hosts Sweden 5-2 on that occasion at the Rasunda Stadium, Solna.Pele had become the first teen-ager to score in a World Cup final in that mnatch, with Kylian Mbappe repeating the feat in France’s win.Mario Mandzukic pounced on a mistake by France keeper Hugo Lloris, making it the highest-scoring final over 90 minutes in 60 years, but Croatia could not find the net again in their first World Cup final.FRANCE VS CROATIA FIFA WORLD CUP FINAL HIGHLIGHTSThe French, playing their third World Cup final, were made to sweat initially and were lucky to go ahead when Mandzukic headed an Antoine Griezmann free kick into his own net in the 18th minute, the first own goal in a World Cup final. The own-goal was also the 12th of the tournament. That’s double the previous World Cup record of six.Ivan Perisic levelled with a powerful shot 10 minutes later but the Croatia midfielder was then penalised for a handball following a VAR review and Griezmann stepped up coolly to convert the 38th-minute penalty and put France 2-1 up. France beat Croatia 4-2 to become FIFA World Cup 2018 championsCroatia fought hard for an hour but gradually ran out of steam after playing extra time in their three previous matches, and goals from Paul Pogba and Kylian Mbappe gave France a three-goal cushion.advertisementMandzukic pulled one back for the Croatians in the 69th, the last of the goals, as the match eneded 4-2 in favour of France.Didier Deschamps creates history as France win World Cup after 20 yearsFrance manager Didier Deschamps became just the third person to win the World Cup as a player and as a coach. Deschamps was captain of the France squad that won the World Cup on home soil in 1998.With France’s 4-2 win over Croatia in the final in Moscow, he joins Franz Beckenbauer (Germany) and Mario Zagallo (Brazil) in an elite trio that has won the title on the field and from the bench.(With inputs from AP)last_img read more