Adams, Hackett Named Indoor Track & Field Student-Athletes of the Year

first_imgThis marks the second consecutive season that Adams earns the award after another dominant indoor season. The Buffalo, Texas, native won the heptathlon for the fourth consecutive year at the Southland Indoor Championships, tallying a final score of 5,544 points. In addition, he took gold in the standalone long jump and high jump, and sixth in the 60m hurdles to finish as the high point scorer with 34, breaking the previous meet record of 27 set in 1994. FRISCO, Texas – Sam Houston State senior heptathlete Tyler Adams and Abilene Christian graduate distance runner Alexandria Hackett are the 2018 Southland Conference Indoor Track & Field Student-Athletes of the Year, the league announced Tuesday. Southland yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition. The Cranston, R.I., product boasts a 3.97 cumulative GPA as she works toward her master’s degree in accounting finance. Adams went on to finish as the bronze medalist at the NCAA Indoor Championships in the heptathlon, setting a new Division I record in the event’s high jump. He holds a 3.42 GPA with a major in engineering technology. The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 13 member universities, votes for student-athletes of the year. The Southland Student-Athlete of the Year award is presented to one student-athlete who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees must have earned at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated athletics achievement for at least two years at the nominating institution. Hackett earned silver medals in both the 3,000m and 5,000m events at this year’s conference championship. It was her second consecutive time reaching the podium in both events. All-Academic teams are named for indoor track & field and outdoor track & field after the conclusion of the outdoor track & field season.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>